Travelling Australia
 http://www.travelling-australia.info
 HOME   MUNGO   BACK 
 
 
Mungo Woolshed
Mungo Woolshed
The woolshed at Mungo was built in about 1869 as part of the growth of Gol Gol station and became part of Mungo when Gol Gol was broken up in 1922. The NPWS has restored the building for visitors to examine. Termite resistant white cypress felled locally was used extensively in construction.

Timber wall Mungo woolshed walls are made of cypress logs trimmed at each end and dropped down vertical slots on either side of the pillars. There is no lining. This heavy use of white cypress denuded local stands of this timber.
Roof beams The interior of Mungo Woolshed has been made safe for visitors who are encouraged by the National Parks and Wildlife Service to wander around inside and look at the structure of the building. These roof beams are typical of the cypress pine trunks used in the building.
Mungo Woolshed - page 2
Shearing equipment Shearing stands in Mungo Woolshed. When it was built on Gol Gol station the woolshed employed 18 shearers using hand shears to shear up to 50,000 sheep. In the 1890 steam equipment was introduced reducing the number of shearers to 10. After Gol Gol was broken up and the woolshed became part of Mungo station, only 4 to 5 shearers were needed to shear the 4,000 sheep Mungo could support.
Mungo Woolshed holding pens
Post and rail fences made of white cypress outside the Mungo Woolshed. Vegetation beyond the fences is typical of the area as is the sand dune in the distance.

Information.
  Mungo National Park by Alan Fox, published by NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (Western Region), 3ed, 2002 reprint.
  Discover Murray at http://www.murrayriver.com.au/river-towns/mungo-national-park/ in November 2009
 PRINTING  TOP